Client of the Month: Erica Z.

 

Meet Erica Z.!  A regular client of our Edina studio and mom to three little girls (almost 6, 4 and 1.5 years!), is our December client of the month!  When not lining up at the barre, Erica loves staying active through running, hiking, snowshoeing and downhill skiing.  She’s also an avid baker & cook and likes to volunteer as much as possible at her daughter’s school.  Read on to learn more about this “barre star” and her inspiring barre journey!

FullSizeRender-7

How long have you been coming to barre and what inspired you to take your first class?

I’ve been coming to the barre for a little over a year.  We’ve been getting our family pictures taken with bellasaluti for many years and I saw the photos that they took for the barre pop up on their facebook page and thought it might be a fun thing to try.  It was quite some time between seeing those photos and taking my first class, but they inspired me to see what the barre was all about.  

 

What is your biggest challenge in class, physically and/or mentally?

Thigh dancing – ha!  It’s so hard!  I also think the abs portion is hard because it’s at the end of class when you’re fatigued and it’s hard to keep good form.  

 

You’re an evening class regular.  How do you keep yourself motivated at the end of the day to come to class?

I love the evening classes.  They’re usually a little quieter  and I love having all the stress and the craziness of the day to fuel my workout.  I also like that my daughters are home to see me leave to go workout.  I love giving them the example that it’s important to take time to move your body.  

 

What physical and/or mental changes have you noticed since making barre a part of your routine?

I’m 35 and honestly in the best shape of my life.  It’s inspired me to be more active and adventurous.  This summer I tried stand-up paddle boarding, canoeing, kayaking, and got on a bike for probably the first time in 20 years.  I also started running a few miles once a week and ran my first 5K!  These are all things I wouldn’t have done if the barre hadn’t whipped me into shape!  

 

How has the barre impacted your life?

It’s made me healthier, stronger, happier, more active, and I’d say a little more patient.  Oh, and I can do a lot more push-ups 😉  

 

Favorite section of class?  Favorite position?

Push-ups – I love the challenge of trying to get through all of them on my toes while keeping good form.  I also love the side seat series.  Hair pin and clam shell are my favorite positions.  

 

What does “barre strong” mean to you?

To me, “barre strong” is the point in class where your mind is begging you to stop.   Maybe, your legs are on fire or your shoulders feel like they just can’t pulse those weights one more time.  Whatever it may be, you find a way to shut off that voice telling you to stop.  That little moment when you push through, that’s barre strong.  

Leave a Reply

